Monday, 14 May 2012, 08:03 GMT
Zakho FC beats Duhok to win Kurdistan Cup

Zakho players celebrate winning Kurdistan Cup./ ZAKHO CLUB WEBSITE FILE PHOTO

The Kurdish Globe

Second cup win in a row for Zakho

For the second time in its history, and for two consecutive years, Zakho Football Club won the Kurdistan Football Cup, beating Duhok Club 2-0 in the final game on May 5 at Zakho's stadium.

Showing tremendous spirit, the team challenged all Kurdistan teams and became back-to-back champion.

Zakho's Barzan Sherzad scored the opening goal in the second minute. After the goal, Duhok reacted with several quick attacks but none of them resulted in a score. The first half ended 1-0.

Duhok dominated the first quarter of the second half by increasing its attacks. Meanwhile, Zakho, fearing it would get scored upon, practiced a defensive style of play and depended on counter attacks. In the 68th minute of the match, Zakho increased its lead over Duhok with a goal from Hardi Nooradding, scored in a counter attack.

Although Duhok tried hard to score, it was unable to. As the final whistle blew on Zakho's dramatic victory over Duhok, the town erupted as fans honked car horns and took to the streets, waving club or Kurdish flags or wrapping themselves in the flags.

Commenting on the match, Kurdish Football Federation President Safeen Kanaby said, "It was a strong match and I saw many good techniques and nice moves. The most interesting thing I noticed today was the huge number of spectators in attendance, especially Zakho's excited fans who cheered on their team until the last minute of the match."

Kanaby believes Zakho town and its team should get more attention. He said strong teams like Zakho and its loyal fans should be congratulated and be encouraged to do more in the future.

Abdulwahab Muhammad, Zakho Club president, said, "I am really happy with the victory. I need to pay tribute to the fans who played a significant role in achieving the team's victory."

In addition to the cup and medals, the winners and runners-up received, KFF also awarded the champions 25 million Iraqi dinars and the runners-up will receive 15 million ID.